BIAB Total mash volume needed.

Discussion in 'Brew Sessions' started by jwalkermed, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    #1 jwalkermed, Jul 6, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2017
    I have used beer smith for a few years now and am trying out brewer's friend. One thing I like about beer smith is it calculates an estimated kettle volume for you mash (including the grains and water). Does brewers friend have this feature. It's nice to know ahead of time if you can't do a full volume mash and need to batch sparge. See photo.

    volume.PNG
     
    jrob likes this.
  2. jmcnamara

    jmcnamara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,457
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rosedale, MD
    I don't believe there is. In a recipe it'll tell you the water requirements but not if it's more than what you can mash.
    I'd love that feature too. Many times I'm just about pushing mash volume and it's be nice for an auto remind feature like this
     
  3. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Yeah I see the basic water requirements. I'll just request the feature.
     
    jmcnamara likes this.
  4. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    It didn't even occur to me that we didn't have that. I put that out for the developers, and I'm sure we'll make that a priority. Thanks for the input!
     
    jrob, Trialben and jmcnamara like this.
  5. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Thanks Yooper. There are so many things I like about both BF and BS. If the two had a baby you'd have the perfect brewing software.
     
    Trialben likes this.
  6. Benman IPA

    Benman IPA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    there is a similar option with BF, click on TOOLS and select water requirements

    upload_2017-9-7_19-0-45.png
     
  7. Benman IPA

    Benman IPA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    you should set up your equipment profile first though
     
  8. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    I do have an equipment profile set up. What BF doesn't do is calculate your total mash volume, it just gives you a water volume requirement. For example If I have a 10lb grist and I require 8 gallons of water, will this fit in my mash tun? It'd be nice to know if I have to plan for a sparge. For now I have to go into beer smith if I'm going to brew a big beer that I think may not fit in my 10 gallon kettle.

    I typically do full volume BIAB mashes.
     
  9. Benman IPA

    Benman IPA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    i guess that part is missing
    i started to do full volume BIAB recently and im calculating it without the app
     
  10. plutek

    plutek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    any movement on this?
    total mash volume would be a great addition to the mash calculator!
     
  11. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Haven't seen anything yet.
     
  12. Head First

    Head First Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    2,455
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Back in the mountains
    If you have your profile set up it will give you a warning if you have exceeded your capacity in the quick water requirements and it's pretty accurate, I've tested it.:rolleyes:
     
  13. plutek

    plutek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    oh, nice... thanks for pointing that out! yes, i just tested it as well: it does look accurate.

    still, i'd say that the "Mash Volume:" label in the mash calculator is misleading. it should be "Cumulative Mash Water:" (or some such), and there should ~also~ be a "Mash Volume:" there (especially since, as you've pointed out, that calculation is already in the system) including a warning if you're exceeding tun capacity.

    and, while we're at it, why not just always display the total mash volume in the quick water requirements?

    my reason for all this is that i've got a couple of different sizes of picnic-cooler mash tuns, and sometimes i want to choose one or the other on the fly during brewday, so always showing the total mash volume estimate would be really helpful. ...not hard to calculate, of course, but the BF system might as well show it when it's got it... ;)
     
  14. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Can you show me where this is. I'm still not seeing it. See attached image. In this example I'm using my profile for a 10 gallon kettle. I've added an outrageous 30+ lbs of grain. I know this won't fit in my kettle for a 5.5 gallon batch but see no alert in the in the quick water requirements.


    test.PNG
     
  15. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    under thew more tab have you selected the profile then saved the recipe
     
  16. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Yes to both.

    Maybe someone can post a pic of what it looks like for them? This is a little perplexing.
     
  17. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    I added 50 pounds of grain to a 20 gallon mash tun, third line

    Opera Snapshot_2017-11-24_101810_www.brewersfriend.com.png
     
  18. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    I'm pretty sure you have to have a default mash thickness set
     
  19. jwalkermed

    jwalkermed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Boerne, TX
    Thanks. That's totally different than mine. I'm using BIAB, no sparge. I wonder if that makes a difference?
     
  20. Ozarks Mountain Brew

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,976
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Managment
    Location:
    The Ozark Mountains of Missouri
    correct bib doesn't have a warning, not sure why
     

Share This Page

arrow_white