ph in the water calculator is always .2 high

jay3847

Trial Member
Reaction score
I've been doing salt additions for a couple years now and the calculated ph is always .2ish higher than the actual. I got a good Milwaukee tester with the calibration solutions. I have used RO water, tap water and Crystal Geyser bottled water.

Any thoughts?

I've been doing salt additions for a couple years now and the calculated ph is always .2ish higher than the actual. I got a good Milwaukee tester with the calibration solutions. I have used RO water, tap water and Crystal Geyser bottled water.

Any thoughts?

We definitely need to look into the results here- .2 is a big difference.
Can you give me a link to your recipes where this is happening, and the actual pH you achieved?

Yeah, .2 is big. I'm normally within. 02, is that perhaps what you meant?

My last brew was predicted at 5.49 and the meter showed 5.28 after the mash. Temp of the sample was probably 120ish.

I am certain this is me doing something foolish but looking for some ideas. I started with RO water and added 3 grams of gypsum on 1 gram of calcium chloride to this recipe:
https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/945096/jay-s-top-crop-test (I'm top cropping some Kveik that I'll dry, just for the hell of it).

That temperature should decrease the pH by about 0.01. Something's off - that mash should land a lot higher than that pH even with the salts. If the error is systematic, that is, if you get a 0.2 error every time, it's something in the meter. Was this the first time you've gotten that error? It also seems that you're adding a lot of salts to a mash this small.

For the record, 5.28 is not a bad pH for that grist and color. I'd have been shooting for 5.3 in a light mash.

Trust your PH meter and adjust if need be...
I agree, calculators get you close and are estimates, meters tell you what is the actual pH.