Do yeast strains change over time?

coreyman

Premium Member
Reaction score
So I'm about to pitch with the same WLP004 I've been recycling for about 4-5 months now and I'm wondering if and when there could be genetic mutations introduced?

Absolute answer, it had mutations when you pitched it. Practical answer, unless you're the champion of sanitation, you probably should have changed out by now. Here's the important question: Did it make good beer the last batch? If so, you're probably good.

Absolute answer, it had mutations when you pitched it. Practical answer, unless you're the champion of sanitation, you probably should have changed out by now. Here's the important question: Did it make good beer the last batch? If so, you're probably good.

It made good beer last batch. I like to think I'm pretty good at sanitation. I've never had an infected brew... knock on wood. Are you suggesting my yeast is becoming more infected each time with bacteria due to inefficiencies in the sanitation process?

Depending on the conditions a yeast is subjected to and how/when it's harvested. it will undoubtedly change. That's a major contributor to the evolution of a strain. I believe that's called selective breeding. At some point there will be mutations and/or other changes. This is why selected pure strains are kept in storage in order to maintain the traits that have been developed over time.

How many generations before any noticeable changes occur may vary due to many factors. As long as the strain continues to produce characteristic results, I see no problem with reuse.

Bacterial populations accumulate, mutations accumulate.... That much is inevitable. No, the sanitation question was to get you thinking about how clean the yeast still is. Other side, there have been stable yeast strains for long periods of time, even stable cultures for centuries. Without a good microscope it's hard to tell but as long as the beer comes out good, the culture probably is as well.