Homebrewer wants hands-on craft brewery experience

AmitK

Trial Member
Reaction score
I have been howebrewing.... I want to have a hands-on craft brewery experience in San Francisco bay area.
I work in IT job but I want to try this also. I wish I could pay and I could get intern kind of experience where I can
learn all the start to end of commercial craft brewery experience. Please let me know if this is possible and how ?

If you're willing to do a lot of janitorial work for free, you might just get to work at a brewery. That's where many people start. Put in some applications.

. Put in some applications.

And don't quit your day job...Unless you're an IT guy living with mom and dad, you're still gonna need a roof over your head...... in the highest cost of living city west of the Misssissippi.

A. Dream on. :p
B. Join a homebrew club with some connections. Many breweries will host or sponsor contests where the winner gets a chance to brew their recipe on a pilot or bigger system. It's usually the smaller, starting-out breweries, but it's an awesome experience!
C. Get to know people who actually work at breweries. it's a pretty casual culture, for the most part. Very often you can get a chance to come in and observe a brew day and help muck out the mash tun or help with clean up to justify your presence.
D. If you brew pretty good beer, pester the local small brewers to try it. They'll give you honest feedback and it's a good way to get a conversation started.
Best of luck! There are so many good brewers on the west coast, you'll find somebody that's receptive to your enthusiasm! ;)

Go in and ask. Sometimes you can find a brewery that will let you come in for a brew day. A number of breweries will look for people to help out on canning or bottling day, packing up the 6 packs on to a pallet or folding case boxes. That at least gets a foot in the door, plus you usually get to take home some that get dented or low filled.