Dry hop

west1m

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Ok dumb question of the day. I just started a recipe from here Kona Big Wave Clone.
It is in the tun. I just noticed the hop schedule calls for Dry Hopping and I have never done this before.
The schedule says "5 Days" Does that mean put it in on day 5 or leave it in for 5 days?

OK "5 days" must be the leave it in there for 5 days...

5 days would be contact time with the beer. I typically add dry hops to fermenter about 7 days into fermentation.

That would mean you leave them in the fermenter for 5 days.

I have a leftover grain bag from the extra grain in an extract kit . I should be able to put the hops in that and let it float for the five days?

Starting to look like beer
Kona Big Wave.jpg

I have a leftover grain bag from the extra grain in an extract kit . I should be able to put the hops in that and let it float for the five days?
That'll work. If you're fermenting in a carboy be sure to put them in 5 days before you're ready to package the beer. Bags of hops aren't easy to get out through a narrow opening.

Ok now I have to ask , with you comment and Kraigerrr's comment, when should the dry hops be added?

Last edited:
I would say anytime from as soon as the rigor has gone from the fermentation to 5 days before you bottle or keg.

glad I asked today , I would have put the hops in today. Thank you everyone!

That would depend. If you were making a NEIPA, you'd add them any time between when you pitch the yeast and high Krausen.
For more conventional styles most brewers wait at least until fermentation is almost complete. I wait until the Krausen drops.

I have put hops in a bag in the past, but now I just add the hops in loose. Five, four, six days, not a big deal to me.