OG way off with new efficiency calc

dIPA2

Lifetime Member
Reaction score
I'm stuck. Thought the new efficiency calc where you can now enter pre/post-boil volumes was going to fix my issue with lower hop aroma and bitterness than expected (hop utilization).

Brewed a Marzen today, volumes were the same as the recipe for pre/post-boil and OG was 1.063 but the recipe predicted 1.054. I just don't know what I'm doing wrong with my setup, I've been fighting volume and OG for many months. I have my equipment profile dialed in so I'm always meeting volumes correctly. The recipe was set at 75% brewhouse efficiency, I accidentally left an extra quart of wort/trub in the kettle, so my brewhouse efficiency came out at 76%, otherwise it would have been 80%.

Differences in OG prior to the pre/post-boil option were closer but today's difference is drastic and I just don't understand what the issue might be. Help please!

Thanks
Bob

Post a recipe and all your measured values so we can take a look.

This seems to have all the info, recipe and brew session. Should mention I measure OG with two refractometers, one digital. I calibrated both and they both read 16 Brix WRI or 1.063.

Thanks for taking a look.

Attachments

• MunichMadness.pdf
    367.3 KB · Views: 141
Last edited:
Wondering if there is a Brewers friend bug with the recent pre/post-boil efficiency changes. I plugged the grain bill into BeerSmith and Brewfather, both tools predict OG at 1.064 where Brewers friend is at 1.054?