Fermentation Chamber

Over The Cliff Brewing

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I want/need a ferm chamber. I have seen so many versions of DIY chambers that I'm drooling from confusion. I would like to do the following. Buy a chest freezer, a temp controller and go to town. Is it really that simple? Since it is summer here cooling is my goal but eventually warming up would be needed. How would that work? Sorry for the long winded story here but I have no knowledge in this area. Help a brewer out!!!

Get a two stage temp controller and any one of many devices to heat during the colder months. Many years ago I had an upright freezer and 2 stage controller. I used a 60 watt light bulb to heat during the winter. The freezer was in a an uninsulated shed and our Winter temperatures often reach single digits and occasionally sub zero. The light bulb did the trick. People use seed starter mats, reptile heaters, brew belts and many other devices. It really doesn't take much to maintain a reasonable temperature in a well insulated containment like a chest freezer.

Yep I'm amazed how well the freezer keeps warm in winter. Like a summer's day in middle of winter.

Get a two stage temp controller and any one of many devices to heat during the colder months. Many years ago I had an upright freezer and 2 stage controller. I used a 60 watt light bulb to heat during the winter. The freezer was in a an uninsulated shed and our Winter temperatures often reach single digits and occasionally sub zero. The light bulb did the trick. People use seed starter mats, reptile heaters, brew belts and many other devices. It really doesn't take much to maintain a reasonable temperature in a well insulated containment like a chest freezer.
Yup, what he said. I would like to add and Bob would agree is do what works for you. Lots of choices for heating, and cooling is already there.
Some things to consider: