Total Newbie - Looking at equipment

Dan_Lock

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello to all,

I am just starting to look into home brewing and I am trying to work out what equipment I should purchase. Looking to jump straight into all grain brewing which I know will be a steep learning curve.

I cannot really utilise the kitchen so will be brewing in the garage. As I do not have access to the kitchen, I need to look at the best option in regards to boiling. I was originally looking at something like the Klarstein Maischfest Mash Kettle- https://www.klarstein.co.uk/cl=details&cnid=d5de636772474df01690626dae61c46b&anid=310bdfc7008747d9358767de89cb2c7a&varselid[0]=ce01c0bcac0375f6b3509c8371f3b65a

However, I have also seen the all-in-one systems such as the Brew Devil single vessel all in one micro-brewery system - https://www.angelhomebrew.co.uk/en/brew-devil/387-pre-order-deal-50l-brewdevil-microbrewery.html

As I said, I am a total newbie, so I am trying to work out the additional benefit of the all in one systems over just the kettle. Is it worth the additional cost?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to Brewers Friend!
There are many, many ways to make beer!
@BOB357 has a Digiboil. If I recall correctly, he got a great deal on it, and he likes it. Judging by the links and the prices being in £'s, I assume that you are in the UK. I wish you good luck, and happy brewing!

If I were starting over in all-grain, I'd look for one of the all-in-ones, as you seem to be. Good luck with it!

It also depends on batch size and how much you want to invest. An all-in-one electric works well for small batches (1-5 gallons), but the electric load and movement of spent grain gets to be cumbersome for larger batches. I would also do some research into how you want to control your fermentation temperature. I find that is one of the keys to making a reasonably good beer (and there are probably dozens of ways to do it).