Does carrageenan raise pH?

Finn B

Trial Member
Reaction score
When I measure pH in the cooled wort before pitching, I find that it is higher than it was when I measured it towards the end of the boil. It is maybe about as much as 0.2 higher. That's pretty annoying, and I don't understand why it should happen. One possible answer - which I actually find hard to believe - is that it's caused by the Supermoss I'm adding 5 minutes before end of boil.

Any thought on this?

NB. I always measure cooled samples.

Reactions: J A
I think we determined that WhirlFloc has an impact on PH but I don't know about Supermoss. Seems possible.

Whirlfloc, definitely, but it's not the carrageenan, it's the baking soda it's bound with. You could find out: Take a sample of your supermoss, boil it for a few minutes in distilled water. Take the pH before and after. I've never used the product before but it looks a lot like Whirlfloc.

Supermoss is carrageenan mixed with glucose (dextrose, corn sugar). I don't know what glucose will do to the pH of distilled water, but I doubt it would matter much in wort. It shouldn't be hard to test it anyway. Next brew I'll take a sample just before I add the Supermoss, then one at flameout, and finally one as I drain the kettle after cooling.

If it has got anything to do with the carrageenan, it's probably not the carrageenan itself. Maybe it's related to the effect of it's taking out proteins?

I'm not a chemist, but at times I really wish I were - or that I had one at hand that I could ask:).

Glucose is neutral in pH - it won't contribute (or absorb) any hydrogen ions. You may be onto something with the protein: Carrageenan is negatively charged, meaning it will attract positively charged ions. That should raise the pH, It's such a popular additive, I'm sure there must be some research out there....