BIAB Recipe Calculator Configuration

JustBrewIt

Premium Member
Reaction score
So I have been brewing for many years, the last 7 mostly on my 3 kettle system, but, I do sometimes brew a batch BIAB and have tried several times to setup a equipment profile for BIAB but have never had any luck. How do I add a equipment profile for BIAB so that it will show me my total water requirement for my full volume mash? I always end up calculating my water requirement outside of Brewer's Friend. I can't believe Brewer's Friend doesn't just have a flag you set for BIAB and it then just adds the fields to the recipe for water requirements. Such a simple thing but I can't seem to find it. :(

You can select different equipment profiles before you brew depending if your going Biab or 3v but you have to set them profiles up first.
I'm sure you can toggle from "all grain" to "Biab" settings in recipie tool too.
Screenshot_20190715-054732_Samsung Internet.jpg

I believe I did this, I seen the BIAB profile selection, however after changing it I still don't see the field that changes a total water volume based on how much grain you add and your desired preboil or post boil volume. For BIAB, you should enter your desired preboil volume and it should give you your total water needed based on grains, grain volume and temperature. I don't see this number anywhere even after selecting BIAB as a new equipment profile. Have you used BIAB in brewers friend or are you just guessing?

You can select different equipment profiles before you brew depending if your going Biab or 3v but you have to set them profiles up first.
I'm sure you can toggle from "all grain" to "Biab" settings in recipie tool too. View attachment 6649