home brew lager temp control unit needed

Bachs Brewhaus

Trial Member
Reaction score
ok so i live in florida and my house doesnt get lower than like 74 .
i need to ferment my beer at 68 degrees . i need some kind of mini fridge or something to keep at that temp. any ideas?
also ik that 68 isnt lager temp. i just used that title as click bait because you need the same thing to lager beer

Lots of options, depending on what you want to spend. I live in Louisiana with my fermenter in the garage. So I have an ambient of over 90 degrees most all summer. I use a fermenter with a heat exchanger coil in the lid. There is a thermowell in the lid also. I have a temperature controller that measures the temperature and kicks on a cooling water pump when the termperature rises. I have the chilled water in a reservoir in a 5 cu ft freezer where I have the temperature controls overridden to stay at 35 degrees. With a neoprene jacket on the fermenter, I can maintain the temperature in the fermenter down to about 55 degrees or so in the summer. I also use the converted freezer to store kegs and serve the beer out of the taps mounted on the freezer.

It sounds a little complicated, but it suits my brewing processes pretty well.

You can get an Inkbird and chest freezer and use any yeast you want. You can easily ferment at 48 degrees if you want or anything up from there. When it comes time to crash, you just lower the set temp and you have chilled/clear beer for transferring.
There's a new Inkbird that is programmable for several different time/temp settings. You could ferment low for 2 weeks and bring up automatically for diacetyl rest and then crash to lagering temps, all with one program setting.

You can get an Inkbird and chest freezer and use any yeast you want. You can easily ferment at 48 degrees if you want or anything up from there. When it comes time to crash, you just lower the set temp and you have chilled/clear beer for transferring.