Kegging

Mark10409

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I've been bottling for about 7 yrs and have made the switch to kegs. I have a mini fridge that I can fit one 5 gal keg and Co2 into. I've got two 5 gal batches ready to keg. I have one in the fridge under pressure now. My question is I'd like to store the other keg in the basement (62 Deg F) under pressure, but i'm not sure how much or how long it can just sit there until the other one is empty. It is a Northern brewer Speckled Heifer Partial Mash Kit. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Mark

Just like the beer in the store, it cycles between warm and cold temps. It’ll be fine* until the current keg taps out.

* assuming you get it carbonated first.

If there's any sort of contamination or light infection, you'll find out. Even beer that's sort of iffy holds well for quite a long time at 32 degrees but if your beer stores well in a keg at room or basement temp, you know you did a great job of keeping things sanitary and having a clean fermentation process. ;)

I too have this issue. Outside of having a fridge for conditioning/lagering and another for serving and another for fermenting it's a problem addressing all of these processes...

I do my best but right now I have one in the kegerator serving and another lagering in my fermenting fridge at 1C leaving no room for the beer I want to make tomorrow :(

I too have this issue. Outside of having a fridge for conditioning/lagering and another for serving and another for fermenting it's a problem addressing all of these processes...

I do my best but right now I have one in the kegerator serving and another lagering
in my fermenting fridge at 1C leaving no room for the beer I want to make tomorrow :(
Brewers 1st world problems. Too much BEER!

Well I purged out all the air on the second keg, put a couple of pounds of Co2 on it and put it in the basement.....Hope it survives :)