Flying Monkeys Smashbomb IPA Clone

Reaction score
Hi.

I'm new to brewing ... new to IPAs. So far, I've supposedly successfully brewed 2 stouts. I say "supposedly" because all my friends like my beer. I don't trust them because I think they just like the free beer concept. Lol. But I did take my beer to a local craft brewery and I got a good review!

Anyways. I'm feeling comfortable enough now try to clone Flying Monkey's Smashbomb IPA as a gift to a friend. Not knowing enough about brewing ... I have to ask the experienced community to help me understand the differences between three recipes I've found.

http://www.hoptomology.com/wordpres.../Hoptomologys-Smashbomb-Atomic-IPA-clone.html

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum/threads/smashbomb-atomic-clone.320685/#post-4012630

** the link to the forum here as 2 recipes - one from artemis and the other from brewmastercontrols.

I find it interesting that none of the clones use the same grain bill / hops that's listed on the official website: http://www.flyingmonkeys.ca/smashbomb-atomic-ipa/

I would like to try the Hoptomology clone's instructions, but try to substitute the grain bill to match (if I can locally source) the bill listed on the official website. The problem is I don't know how to correlate the two different grain bills so I get the right amount of each malt listed on the official site. Hope my question makes sense.
If you have any suggestions, please let me know. THanks.

I don't know the beer but a word on cloning: Don't try for an exact copy, you'll be disappointed. Instead, think of "inspired by" as a better word than "clone". I've gotten pretty close to Yuengling, pretty close to St Arnold's "Santo" but can't match exactly because of ingredient variability. I've found that making a good beer in the style of x to be much more rewarding than attempting to reproduce x. Besides, in most cases, I can buy x in the store, why should I spend my time trying to do what the maker of x does so well.