Maple Sap

Aje1967

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

My friends and I tap a few maple trees every year and make maple syrup. I am thinking seriously about taking 7 gallons (or so) of sap and brewing a beer with it. I have no idea what minerals are in maple sap and no idea if there is enough flavor to even notice it in a beer. My question is, considering the above, what style beer might be a safe choice that might even taste great?

Thanks!

I would think that for it to have any effect you would need to use the end product, and then if you use it in brewing I'm not sure it would offer much flavor, but being a simple sugar like honey it might dry the beer up a bit. Maybe use some maple syrup when packaging a porter. Having said that I am pretty new at this, others will have better thoughts than I.

Ok, that was not good advice at all, adding sugar when bottling on top of priming sugar could put you in bottle bomb territory. When kegging it would likely also get consumed by the yeast, but shouldn't be dangerous. Probably the only way to get maple flavor would be with maple extract.

Just try it. Seems that about 40 to 1 is the ratio of sap to syrup so in a 5 gallon batch of beer you should realize the same flavor contribution as adding a little over a pint of syrup. More sap/longer boil will get you more flavor. I'm sure that a lot of the flavor of maple syrup comes from the mailard reactions in the long boil to get syrup but you should get something interesting.
You'd want something very light and fairly bland to get a sense of the flavor contribution. I'd make a cream ale with nothing but 2-row and 20% rice and light hopping with something like Hallertau and maybe a little Hallertau Blanc at 5 minutes. That would give you a nice, light beer with flavors that will compliment the hint of maple that you should get.