Avg perfect NEIPA help

Kees77

Trial Member
Reaction score
hi all

I am relatively new to brewing; completed 5 all grain batches. It has been fun and results have been good. I just tried the Avg Perfect New England NEIPA recipe from this website and want to improve on this style. I love this type of IPA but I seem to have issues with hop burn. My first batch is harsh and I think the hops give it a puckering astringency type taste.

I am quite particular with cleaning and sanitizing and feel the taste is from hops.

Brew day specifics
- 60 min mash in a mash king cooler at 167.
- single batch sparge once first running was drained.
- followed recipe to a tee in terms of timing and hop additions.
- accidentally cooled to 130 and raised temp to 170 while whirlpool gave (that was the only mistake.
- I use a drill with the grainfather paddle to Wp.

I got 5.5 gallons in the fermenter all of which was full of hops. There was not a hop stand and this was the cloudiest, dirtiest wort i have ever transferred. I oxygenated with the same paddle and pitched one packet of White labs London Fog (Wlp066). The O.G was 1.060 and it finished at 1.012.

I did not transfer to a secondary and dry hopped to schedule (Day 4 and Day 7) in the primary. I used pellet hops and did not bag them. Therefore, i did not remove the first hops addition.

Transferred to keg on Day 10 and carb'd for 4 days. That transfer was also tough since there were so many hops. They were floating on top and settled below.

The first 2 pints were undrinkable and 8 pints later it has gotten better. I find it more bitter than expected and the back of my throat burns. The smell is great. The color is great. I was expecting it to be more smooth.

With that said:
Should i filter the wort when transferring to the primary?
Did i ruin it when i cooled to 130 for the whirlpool?
Should i pitch more yeast than one packet?
Should I use a secondary and risk oxygenation?
Should i bag the dry hop additions?