BIAB, no sparge method kettle size?

LaksenBaksen

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I'm new to home brewing. I think it seems exciting and I have tried it a couple of times in school. I want to start brewing on my own at home.

I am a student and live in an apartment with limited space that I share with some others. I would therefore like to use the method: "brew in a bag" without sparge. I know that the efficiency is lower with this method and that you can make up for it by adding extra malt.

The problem is just that I have doubts, about what size brew kettle should when you don’t sparge and when extra malt is added. I want to be able to brew a 10-15 liter

I have looked at a brew kettle that contains 27 liters. Is it enough?

https://www.brouwland.com/en/our-pr...ferm/d/brewferm-electric-brew-kettle-sst-27-l

Kind regards

LaksenBaksen

A good rule of thumb is double your batch size.

Kettle should be at least double your batch size, a bit more than double would better if you plan on doing higher ABV beers. I did 20 liter batches with a 40 liter kettle. Hope this helps.

I should have been more explicit: I'm using a 11 gallon kettle for a default 6 gallon batch size. I can fit 8 gallons to do a 120 minute boil if necessary I could go higher, watching carefully for boilovers. That's what you need the extra head space for. If you watch, shut the boil off once it starts to foam, leave it for a while for hot break to form and the foam to subside, then resume.... I can boil 4.5 gallons of wort in a 5 gallon kettle.

I'm stove top BIAB and I've gone through three sizes of kettle, first 10L (for 5 L batches) then 20 L (for 10 L batches). I'm now using 36 L kettle for 10-12 litre batches, which lets me do the big ABV beers without scaling down the batch size. The only downside is it's a bit of a challenge to get a decent boil on some stove tops (so I boil with the lid half on for those).