First Recipe - Dry Hopped IPA

JakeRabbit

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm still a novice brewer. This is my first time trying to create my own recipe. I based it off of my first brew which was the northern brewer chinook ipa that turned out really great. Trying to change it up a little bit to get a higher ABV and change the hop characters. Let me know what you think or what I could/should do differently

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/embed/771163

I personally would increase the IBUs to 60 or so and increase the dry hop amount considerably. Also you may want to sub in about 5% plain old table sugar to increase the fermentability of the extract based beer.

I personally would increase the IBUs to 60 or so and increase the dry hop amount considerably. Also you may want to sub in about 5% plain old table sugar to increase the fermentability of the extract based beer.

I added an extra half ounce for 60 minutes brought the IBU to 50 which I think would be plenty for my taste. I also doubled the dry hop simcoe to 2oz instead of 1.

About the table sugar, add an additional 5% so about half a pound of table sugar?

I added an extra half ounce for 60 minutes brought the IBU to 50 which I think would be plenty for my taste. I also doubled the dry hop simcoe to 2oz instead of 1.

About the table sugar, add an additional 5% so about half a pound of table sugar?

I would replace 1/2 lb of LME with sugar.

You can also wait for others advice. This is just what used to work for me in the past when brewing with extract.

It took me way too long to realize I wasn't using enough hops for hoppy styles.

Last edited:
I would replace 1/2 lb of LME with sugar.

You can also wait for others advice. This is just what used to work for me in the past when brewing with extract.

It took me way too long to realize I wasn't using enough hops for hoppy styles.

Okay thanks for your input