Yeast Starter - 1L before or after adding yeast?

Reaction score
When I'm calculating a yeast starter size, is the calculator counting on my total volume, with yeast, to be a 1 liter (or whatever the calculator tells me)?

This is the assumption I've been operating under for a few years but have questioned it as I don't see anybody else is doing exactly what I am. I've been using the calculator to tell me what size starter I need, let's say 1 liter. At that size for 1.040 gravity, I need 4 oz DME. I've been weighing that out, adding somewhere around 800 ml water and boiling that for 15 min. After chilling, I add the yeast from a smack pack, yeast slurry, etc. I'm generally a little under 1L at this point so I add some pre-boiled (and then cooled) water to get to 1L total.

I feel like this is the way to go, especially if you're doing a multi-step starter. If going from a 500ml starter to a 1.5L you'd end up making a 2L starter in the end if you didn't decant and short the initial volume of water to account for the volume of yeast right?

And yes, I'm aware I've overthinking this.

Yep, serious overthinking. I'm assuming you're thinking about the Wyeast packets, the smack packs? Each has 125 ml of liquid inside and here's how they work: The stuff inside the packet is a nutrient solution - read starter - and what's "smacked" is a packet with the yeast. So what you're doing when you smack the smack pack is release yeast into, wait for it, starter wort. So you're adding wort to wort (the starter you made), overall effect negligible. If you're talking about actual slurry, the stuff from manufacturers like White Labs, the volume is yeast, what you're trying to grow. Again negligible.

Working metric is the easiest way to go: Add 10g DME for every 100ml of water (a 1 liter starter would be 100g DME). Optional: some yeast nutrient and I use a bit of metabisulfite to dechlorinate the tap water. Boil, cool and pitch.