Hop additions and when to add them?? Question

Joebo27

Trial Member
Reaction score
Id like to know when to add hop additions I'm new to this and don't fully understand when it says 60 min 45 min 15 min than 0 min well when the hell is 0 min added when it says 60 min do they go the whole boil just confusing to me

That's basically it yes, 60 minutes means if you boil for 60 minutes put them in right when it starts boiling. 0 means put them in when you turn the heat off, it's just for flavouring that will extract while you chill it down.

45 means with 45 minutes left, 15 means with 15 minutes left (So you've been boiling for 45 minutes). Etc...

Hope that helps.

Very much so thanks for clarifying that with me!

No problem. I remember looking at that and being confused as hell.

It helps if you picture your timer when you think of the hops.

When you start to boil, set your timer for 60 minutes. Each hop addition is listed at the length of total time boiled. So, when you set the timer, you see you have 60 minutes left, so you add your 60 minute hops. When your timer shows 15 minutes, you add your 15 minute hops, and so on. When the timer hits 0, you add your 0 minute hops (also called 'flame out' additions).

However much time is on the timer is when you add your additions, including whirlfloc or Irish moss finings if you are using them. Things like lactose or sugar are also added as timed additions, so it helps with all recipes to think of the timer when you are looking at the additions.

Hi everyone.
I am also a newbie in home brewing so i was wondering can anyone explain to me why do you put different (or sometimes the same) hops at a different time to boil?
Why dont just put it in all at once?

Hi everyone.
I am also a newbie in home brewing so i was wondering can anyone explain to me why do you put different (or sometimes the same) hops at a different time to boil?
Why dont just put it in all at once?