Large mouth - closed transfer - newbie

Beer'n'Q

Trial Member
Reaction score
New member - first post so please let me know if I'm screwing up.
I use a 7.5gal glass, large mouth carboy for fermentation and want to figure out how to do a completely closed transfer into a ball lock 5gal keg. I'm relatively new to HB so if new/different equipment is the best way to go (especially for the long haul) pleased don't hesitate with your suggestions. Links would be awesome. I currently have gotten most of my equipment form The Beverage Factory.
Thanks for any help/suggestions.
Cheers

If I understand your equipment profile correctly, what you want to do is not possible. It's also not particularly necessary to do a completely closed transfer.If you have carbon dioxide available to you flush the receiving vessel with it and then transfer. That's how I do it, and I have no oxidation problems.

If I understand your equipment profile correctly, what you want to do is not possible. It's also not particularly necessary to do a completely closed transfer.If you have carbon dioxide available to you flush the receiving vessel with it and then transfer. That's how I do it, and I have no oxidation problems.
I apologize for the "Brewing-for-Dummies" question but if I flush the keg with CO2 and then open it to fill it what does flushing do?

I apologize for the "Brewing-for-Dummies" question but if I flush the keg with CO2 and then open it to fill it what does flushing do?
CO2 is heavier than air. As long as you don't shake it vigorously or turn it over enough gas will stay in to prevent oxidation.

CO2 is heavier than air. As long as you don't shake it vigorously or turn it over enough gas will stay in to prevent oxidation.