Steeping Grains & Mash PH in Extract Brewing?

Rephy

Trial Member
Reaction score
First off I am new to home brewing so this may be a silly question, but Im confused to the reported numbers I am getting on the Mash PH in the recipe builder.

Im extract brewing a recipe kit, 5 gallon batch, 3 gallon boil, 7 lbs extract, 1 lb steeping.

I researched that Distilled and RO are fine for brewing extracts due to the correct water chemistry is already contained within the extracts, so using neutral water is fine.

I have added steeping grains to my recipe and the recipe builder adds a Mash PH below where it should be. I have a distilled water profile of 7 PH. All other elements are set to 0. The Mash PH stays low when I remove the steeping grains and never goes away. If I build a recipe with no steeping grains I don't see a Mash PH show up at all. Its seems once you add steeping grains you get a low PH permanently.

I realize steeping the grains will change the PH slightly depending on the grain. Do I need to bring the PH level up? Does it matter? Can I get rid of the reported number, N/A? Is the PH part of the BJCP and will it make my beer invalid to the style? I see N/A on other peoples recipes but can't do it in mine. I have a few other questions but I want to start with these.

Last edited:
So I performed another test recipe, it worked fine. No PH shows up. May have something to do with me syncing the recipe from the app. Not sure why the PH is stuck on the original recipe.

Honestly I wouldn't even worry about it for now. Get the brewing under your feet and worry about that in a bit.

Agree with Hawkbox: There's lots of time later to worry about pH. At this point, concern yourself with sanitation and if possible, fermentation temperature.