Pressure Fermenting

myben

Trial Member
Reaction score
Anyone had any experience with fermenting under pressure. Info seems to suggest grain to glass time is reduced by a bit and the ability to ferment at higher temps,Not much of an issue with ales but because I don't have the patience to brew lagers it might be a solution. Be interesting to hear if anyone has tried this.

I'm just getting into using my Unitank that has the capability of holding pressure at any point in the fermentation. So far I've only tried "capping" or closing the tank to hold pressure from the last few points of fermentation in order to carb the beer. I suppose I could try spunding for a lager, but I don't find that fermentation takes particularly long with the right yeast and the right temperature. For the most part I do lagers at temps in the high 50s and ramp up to diacetyl rest relatively quickly so that fermentation can be done in a week or less. Then another week for crashing and kegging. The last S-23 "speed" lager I did for a party was packaged on day 11, extremely drinkable at 3 weeks and really clear and clean at 4 weeks. Even my last couple of lagers where I held at 52 for 10 days before ramping slowly were fully attenuated and D-rested in about 2 weeks.

Fermenting under pressure is intriguing to me as well. I look forward to more reports on the topic

Closed fermentations are correlated with high DMS so I'd be wary of that

My professional opinon is that of... Never ferment under pressure unless you have too. Hydrostatic pressure and yeast cause all sorts of funk. If you ask any professional brewer if there was an option for fermenting under pressure or no pressure. 99% would beg for the latter. Fermenting under pressure introduces a large number of un-necessary variables, that most homebrewers don't need (or know how) to combat.