Lack of activity...

Reborn627

Trial Member
Reaction score
Good morning again folks,

I'm pretty new to the homebrew scene and I'm still learning the basics. I've brewed my first perry about 4 weeks ago, a Mangrove Jack's Pear Cider kit that I picked up from glutenfreehomebrewing.org, that turned out pretty well and continues to get better as I leave it to age. Last night I tackled my first gluten free beer, I Chocolate Porter that I found on this site. The process went very well and by the time that I got it into the carboy I was pretty confident that I'd made a reasonable porter, great color and terrific porter aroma, and it hasn't aged yet! I'm looking forward to enjoying it at Thanksgiving with my family.

So, the reason I'm posting this morning. My brother gave me a brewing kit for Christmas, time passes too quickly these days. Anyway, 2 weeks ago I went ahead and finally gave it a shot. I'm sure you're saying "Oh boy, he let it sit for a 8 months, I'll bet he had problems!" So yeah, I think maybe I ought to just toss what I've made. The big mistake that I made is that I didn't store my yeast properly. The kit sat in the box that it came in for all of this time but I went ahead and used it all anyway. The boil portion went just fine, though 5 feet of tubing is not near enough, my poor bamboo floor, but the fermentation seems to have been a little bit weird. First, I did not re-hydrate the yeast, a rookie mistake but the kit didn't instruct me to and, until a week or so ago I didn't know any better. Anyway, I pitch the yeast, did a little shake, and set it in the basement to do it's thing. For a week and a half it did little to nothing. At a week and a half I suddenly had what looked like a foamy head, a bit brown, on the brew but any bubbling of the airlock and stopped as quickly as it may have started. I never saw any activity from the airlock, I pretty much let it be after the first 3 days thinking it was likely dead yeast.