Setting times in recipe to get the brew timer to work properly?

W Wags

Trial Member
Reaction score
so I hav a NEIPA recipe that I am brewing. It has a first wort hop add, 60min boil, and three whirlpool hop adds in the 40 minute whirlpool, 40, 30, 20min. Question is how do I setup the times in each hop to have it show up in the brew timer properly? I want to be able to hit start at the first wort add and have it alert me to everything along the way. Thinking hitting start at hot break is probably more realistic due to unknown time from FW to HB.... I am new to using Brewers Friend. I searched the forum, not rely knowing what to search for I didn’t come up with anything....

Thanks, Will

I'm not sure if I'm reading your post correctly, but when you input your hops when building your recipe, you enter the times there. When ready to brew, it will track the time and let you know when to add each addition. You choose when to start your boil timer. I typically wait a few minutes for hot break.
I find the bf timer kinder clunky and a bit of pain. I use my google home with voice commands for all my timers these days. Works fabulous imo. Our stove timer never gets used anymore either.

I'm not sure if I'm reading your post correctly, but when you input your hops when building your recipe, you enter the times there. When ready to brew, it will track the time and let you know when to add each addition. You choose when to start your boil timer. I typically wait a few minutes for hot break.
I find the bf timer kinder clunky and a bit of pain. I use my google home with voice commands for all my timers these days. Works fabulous imo. Our stove timer never gets used anymore either.