Consistently hitting target OG, losing a ton of volume.

HOWHARDRYA

Trial Member
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to home brewing. I've had some training at a local brewery as an intern. I'm not going in completely blind, but I'm no professuh.

About 6 weeks ago, I made my first all-grain batch. That was a bit of an experiment in terms of putting what I know to use with full creative control, and learning how my equipment behaves. I went with an oatmeal stout because it's a forgiving style (from my understanding). My target OG was 1.065 and I wound up with 1.062. I had considered this fairly close, but I wound up with 4 gallons at primary fermentation when calculations were done for a 5.5 gal batch.

Today, I had went for an American IPA and had similar results. My target OG was 1.071, wound up with 1.071 on the money, and I finished with 4 gallons in the carboy with an anticipated 5.5 gallons.

It appears I am doing something where I consistently hit my targets, but lose quite a bit of volume. My question is mainly why that is and how do I maintain both the anticipated volume and sugar concentration? Am I a victim of dumb luck? It seems to me that if I were to be losing a gallon and a half it would be during the boil, then I would be increasing the wort's density relative to water.

Thanks a ton.

Can you share one of your recipes with us? (assuming you have it saved here within your profile)
At least the numbers are show consistency, which is very good! It is easy to fit your numbers to your equipment profile, just change target volume (fermenter) and brewhouse efficiency accordingly.
The question does remain though, why is your anticipation so far removed from the real results? ;)

fwiw, if I use 36L of H2O and 6kgs of grain (OG=14°P) and boil for 1hr, I end up with ~24L of wort.
From what I have observed the difference of 12L breaks down very roughly to 1L/kg grain absorption + 10% boil off + 1-2L "other losses", e.g. dead space in my mash tun.

Last edited: