Is it worth doing closed pressure transfer

xx-griz-xx

Trial Member
Reaction score
Greetings. I was looking into upgrading some components and was thinking about doing closed pressure beer transfers from fermentation unit to keg. I have been brewing now for nearly 4 yrs and have always just gravity fed beer from carboy/fermentation unit to keg and have never had any oxygen issues affecting my beer. When my keg is filled, I add some c02 and and purge what oxygen is left.

After researching this process, I have seen folks pressure the fermentation unit and just run a hose into the bottom of the keg and fill it that way. I have also seen where folks are hooking the beer line from the fermentation unit and attaching it to the out line on the keg to make it truly oxygen free transfer.

That being said, and based on I have never had any issues with oxygen affecting my beer transferring the old fashion way, is it really necessary to utilize a true oxygen free pressure transfer system? Thanks for your time.

I've thought about doing it myself too but I've been a little hesitant because I've seen all kinds of people having issues with sucking air or sanitizer back into the beer from the top of the carboy, then they have to come up with a gadget to keep air from getting back in. seems like more trouble than it's worth to me

That being said, and based on I have never had any issues with oxygen affecting my beer transferring the old fashion way, is it really necessary to utilize a true oxygen free pressure transfer system?
See answer in quote above.

If it were necessary as you asked, we’d all be doing it and you wouldn’t have asked. ;)

The short answer is yes, it's worth it. Pro's watch this like a hawk, o2 ingress has a big impact on beer quality.
I have never had any issues with oxygen affecting my beer transferring the old fashion way