Would this recipe sink or swim?

Hop fiend

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm fairly new to brewing all grain, mostly doing pale ales from known recipes. I have a 10 gallon capacity so would like your opinions on this recipe before I commit to brewing it. I'm aiming for a strong English bitter with caramel notes and a hint of smoke. Like I say this is new ground for me so feel free to tell me exactly what you think!

9 kg ( 19.8lbs) Marris otter
500g (1.1lbs) Crystal malt (not sure how dark yet.)
200g (7 oz) Brown malt
200g (7 oz ) Aromatic malt
75g (2.6 oz) Roasted barley

Total malt bill: 9.975 kg / 21.94 lbs.
Target O.G 1.059
Target F.G 1.014- 1.020

30g (1 oz) Target @ 60 mins
40g (1.5 oz) East Kent Goldings @ 30 mins
60g (2.1 oz) East Kent Goldings @ 0 mins / whirlpool 20 mins.

I will use salts, CRS, etc to get the water on target but I'm
not sure of the yeast so what would you suggest?
Cheers, Ollie.

Last edited:
this is way to big for a 10 gallon pot, comes out black when I recreate it, what beer are you trying to make

Hi there Ozarks- my pot is actually 15 gallons. What I meant was I end up with 10 gallons in the fermenter. I'm trying to make a strong English bitter with caramel notes and a hint of smoke. Definitely more malt focused but balanced with softer English hops. I'm not really too bothered by the colour as long as I get the flavour right but I welcome any tips on achieving this.
Cheers.

Here's the full recipe..
https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/edit/205977

Your description of the profile sounds good...I am still a newbie myself so I will leave more experienced brewers to guide you. Here is a list of yeasts and someone's interpretation of the resulting flavors or maybe the mfg description. Either way I find it helpful when concocting a recipe.

http://www.onebeer.net/yeaststrains_ale.html

Wow that's really useful thanks Radcp!

the first time I looked the recipe was different, am I seeing things or did you change it