Case of the Monday's Pale Ale

Radcp

Trial Member
Reaction score
I wanted to create a beer with low alcohol, some body and a little hop forward taste. A daily beer that is unlike commercial light beers. This is my first time steeping with oats and from what I could find I needed an additional source of convertible sugars, not sure how I did but hoping it will come out ok.

Also the smell of Galaxy is amazing, I might have to make room in the back yard for a vine next to the brewer's gold.

Total 2.5 Gallons

Steep: 45 mins 155f

8oz Flaked Oats
1/2lb Wheat DME

Extract:

1/2lb Wheat DME (remaining from above)
1lb Pilsen Light DME

Hops:

0.33oz Galaxy Hops Pellet 45min
0.33oz Galaxy Hops Pellet 15min
0.33oz Galaxy Hops Pellet 0min (15min stand)

Yeast:

Nottingham- rehydrated at 90f

OG: 1.036 (estimated final abv- 3.75%)

The only thing that oats will do is make it cloudy. Since there's no enzymatic action to turn the starches into sugar, all you're doing is putting oatmeal in your boil. You'll do better to steep some Carapils or Crystal wheat if you can find it. For oats or flaked wheat or any unmalted grain, you have to mash it along with malted barley or malted wheat so that enzymes can convert the starches. For that you can do a mini-mash which is not fundamentally different from steeping.

yep i wouldnt bother with the oats. as JA wheat will do the same but if your not mashing. gets some crystal malt.
why not add that maltodextrine i see the extract guys use to boost bodie just tame it downnso it remains low alcohol.

if it were me id go the all grain route mash high still ferment well with chico strain but include either some wheat or inmalted barley to boost bodie. some caramel malts will also lend that malty mouthfeel you may loose in a light grain bill. so some munich or vienna as half the grist would help too. enjoy the trials.