Force carb?

RAtkison

Trial Member
Reaction score
I have 2 ales i just kegged and this is my first time to keg beer. I put both on 12 psi last night, and from what I am told, should expect it to be ready in ~2 weeks. I have been looking at the idea of force carbing and wanted to see what everyones thought on that is. From what I understand I can kick the regulator up to 25-30 psi, shake the kegs slightly for 15 minutes and leave it at this level for 24 hours. After that drop it down to 20 psi for another 24-48 hours, then drop down to dispensing pressure (10-12 psi) and begin to taste until it gets to desired carbonation. Is this correct?

Any thoughts on doing this?

I know it is not ideal but I would like to have them ready in time for Christmas if possible, but I do not want to ruin the beer either.

Any feedback is appreciated!

if your wanting it fast don't shake it up, the reason it clouds the beer back up and mixes any yeast that may have fallen to the bottom

That's pretty much what I do all the time. Blast it for 24 hours or so with around 35 PSI through the liquid line so it bubbles up, then I transfer to my serving gas lines which sit around 10 PSI for a couple days and it's good to go.

I shake my keg with a 25-30 lb line on it for about 5 minutes. The next day, I’m happy enough with it, although the carbonation will improve with age and serving pressure and temperature on it.

So is it best to hook up to the gas line or the liquid line for the 24 hour period, or does it matter? Is the alternative to hooking up to the liquid line hooking it up to the gas line and shaking for 5 minutes?

Oh one thing I have learned the hard way is don't fill the keg above the gas line level if you are doing a big pressure differential or you have beer going up your gas line.

The liquid line is faster because the gas goes through the liquid whereas the gas line has to permeate down from the top.