Oatmeal Stout turned sour. Is it spoiled?

eriver

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am fairly new to homebrewing, and very new to all-grain brewing. I've made some batches of extract (around 10) that turned out pretty good, so I decided to step up to all-grain. I've had two all-grain batches turn out good, and the third batch is the BYO Better Not Pout Stout recipe. Everything went well with mashing, fermentation and so on, but when I went to rack to secondary, I've noticed a pretty unpleasant (rotten-eggish) smell to the beer. After reading about it a bit, I decided to rack to secondary and let it be anyhow.

I had to go away and the beer sat on the secondary for about a month, until today I had time to bottle it. I racked it to the bottling bucket and took a sample to measure final gravity and give it a taste. The smell is not so prominent anymore, but the beer tastes very sour (the wort tasted sweet and delicious before fermenting). It doesn't taste bad per se (I'm pretty into sours), but I wasn't expecting it and I am not sure if it's good to drink or not.

This is the first time I had a batch go potentially spoiled, so I am not really sure whether to dump it or bottle it and drink it. Any thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Sour/vinegar taste usually indicates an infection, but not always.

May we have the grain bill, yeast, hop schedule, water profile and treatment, fermentation temp.?

Sour notes could also indicate a pH problem, especially in the mash. Roasted malt is acidic and the mash pH will drop and usually you need to bring the pH up again in the 5.3-5.6 range for dark, roasted beers. Not doing so, might drive your pH down and cause the sour notes.

Some yeasts, like SafAle S-04 is known to produce more lactic acid than others.

The yeast will actually determine the pH of the final beer, but it is related to the mash pH, which has great impact.