Starter from harvest question

oliver

Premium Member
Reaction score
This is my first time preparing to make a real starter, and I'm doing it from harvested yeast in mason jars. and I'm curious about all the liquid in my mason jars.

Should I decant off the liquid in my mason jars, and pitch the yeasty layer at the bottom of the jar into newly prepared wort?

OR,

should I swirl up the entire mason jar, get everything in suspension, and pitch that into a newly prepared wort?

from there I'd stick my flask on the stir plate for about 2 days, and pitch it on brewday.

Here's what I've got if this helps make things clear.
24291633_10155934997289299_7782665084746787405_o.jpg

24294114_10155934997279299_4109716511539212616_n.jpg

I would decant. The storage fluid is likely mostly water, if you follow the most common procedures for yeast harvesting and cleaning. That would dilute your starter. And anything floating around in there is likely to be either dead or non-viable.

I would decant. The storage fluid is likely mostly water, if you follow the most common procedures for yeast harvesting and cleaning. That would dilute your starter. And anything floating around in there is likely to be either dead or non-viable.
gotcha. tonight I added 3oz Pilsen DME into 1100ml of distilled water, boiled, and cooled. Then decanted 1 mason jar, swirled to loosen the yeast, pitched into my flask, and added to stir plate. Not sure if I did anything wrong... but we'll see, going to pitch it on sunday after I brew and see what happens.

thats good looking yeast ;)
Why thank you. I was very meticulous when harvesting.

Now I have more questions about overpitching, simply, What can happen if I build too big of a starter for 2.5 gallons of 1.060 wort?

So my stir plate starter had noticeable fermentation on Saturday. it formed a little krausen. It finished out Saturday afternoon and was still swirling, so I brewed and pitched it last night around 11pm.