American Pale Ale - Fermentation

Cassuis Clay

Trial Member
Reaction score
I am very new to brewing and am busy with my 5th batch.

I have some concerns regarding the current fermentation of an APA (American Pale Ale) that I am busy with and have a few questions regarding it's current fermentation and gravity.

I have now been fermenting for 11 days.

Before I continue the recipe and process was as follows.
  • Partial Mash - In brew pot with grain bag @ 68c (154f) for 60mins - (pale malt, CaraAroma, CaraMunich) 5liters (170oz)
  • Sparge with 6liters @ 77c (170f)
  • Boiled Wort for 60 mins with 30g (1.1oz) Southern Passion Hops (South African https://goo.gl/ijMi9k) 11% AA
  • @45mins Added 35g (1..2oz) Cascade Hops 7% AA
  • Cooled with copper wort chiller to 33c (91f)
  • Transferred to fermenter (6 gal Carboy) and topped up to 20lt mark (5 gal)
  • OG reading = 1052 sg
  • Pitched Yeast - SAFALE 05 @ 25c (77f)
  • Fermented at 20c (68f) - In a converted chest freezer with a temp controller
  • The fermentation went well and reached high krauzen @ 4 days at which point it began to recede
  • After 11 days the gravity is @ 1017
  • Airlock is still bubbling very slowly (1 bubble per 10 - 20 mins)

I need some advice on the following three points…
  1. Is it ok that the airlock is still bubbling, even although it does appear to be slowing down gradually? I am worried that the gravity is still rather high and my target is about 1013 - 1014 sg. I have read alot about stuck fermentations, is mine still ok?
  2. I plan to bottle @ about 14 days fermentation, as long as the target FG has been reached. Should I wait longer, perhaps three weeks or until I get to my Target FG?
  3. Will it do any harm bottling at a higher FG?
Thanks in advance for the help, this is my first post on this forum and I am really hoping for some of you experts out there to guide me in the right direction.

Last edited: