Lid was removed from fermenter on day 2 !

Dragonsbrew

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to all this ,
Question re the fermenter on day 2 everything has been running smooth , I found my son had opened the fermenter would this spoil the batch ?

Best advice, put the lid back on and observe the airlock for activity, but it may take 12 to 24 hours to start again till the fermentor builds pressure.

On a good note, you have a curious youngster, curiosity makes for good brewers.

Thanks Little bugger is observant calmly stated well there's no sticker saying don't open grrrr kids !

its fine, the only thing that could happen is germs, people open ferment all the time, to be safe take an alcohol swab and kill anything he or she may have touched

These are the things you'll remember when your grandchildren ask you questions, deep down you will laughing, while you tell them.

These are the things you'll remember when your grandchildren ask you questions, deep down you will laughing, while you tell them.
Hoping when brew is ready chilled and in a glass during winter I can chuckle over the little mishaps

During winter? Have we another Aussie??

I found my son had opened the fermenter
How long did it stay open? If he just put the lid back in place, it'll be quite fine. If it sat open for a while, you may pick up a wild yeast or a beer-loving bacteria, but the likelihood of it spoiling the batch isn't that great.

During winter? Have we another Aussie??
There's plenty of nations south of the equator besides us my friend , most of them can safely be ignored and in all honesty isn't quite as good a place to live or take holidays as here though ....beware kiwis since they sometimes pretend to be Aussies but are really only any good at rugby and sharing sheep :p

Back to topic its hard to say , infection can happen in an instant so going to have to wait and see
I always have a spray bottle of starsan or 2 handy to help keep my yeasties as the only lifeform in my beer