Forgot to rinse bucket after sterilising

JamieD

Trial Member
Reaction score
So I sterilised all my equiptment and stupidly forgot to rinse out my bucket before I started brewing, I know schoolboy error.. I emptied it pretty good but doubt it even dryed properly before I started..

So what do I do, just throw out the brew and start on another or leave it and taste if after a few weeks..

This is the steriliser I used and says rinse after using on instrautions..

Thanks

So I sterilised all my equiptment and stupidly forgot to rinse out my bucket before I started brewing, I know schoolboy error.. I emptied it pretty good but doubt it even dryed properly before I started..

So what do I do, just throw out the brew and start on another or leave it and taste if after a few weeks..

Thanks
Hay don't be so haisty there Jamie :) you should get some star San then u definitely don't need to rinse after sterilising ;). Let her ferment out then taste your Finnished product if she tastes soapy or off then toss,it but if I were u I'd just wait and see.

I agree, see where it is after a few days. You have to try to make this stuff "not beer". You'll make something at least drinkable, if not what you intended

Why did you sterilize you bucket ? Did you have an infection? If so just toss it out and get new one. I just wash with soft sponge and a bit of oxyclean. If your anal you could dump some boiling water in it but I wouldn't use anything caustic. What did you use? Bleach probably will ruin the beer but at this point you may as well let it ferment out.

Why did you sterilize you bucket ? Did you have an infection? If so just toss it out and get new one. I just wash with soft sponge and a bit of oxyclean. If your anal you could dump some boiling water in it but I wouldn't use anything caustic. What did you use? Bleach probably will ruin the beer but at this point you may as well let it ferment out.