Frustrated... (Tilt/Kindle)

Immersion. I drilled 2 holes in a 16G kettle and installed these in it. The water here is a bit hard and I have to scrub them off occasionally but it works pretty well. Getting a Robobrew is probably easier and not much more expensive.

View attachment 15710
Ok, Immersion, however, inside a steel thermowell. Not quite as exposed as water heater elements, so not going to burn out if it gets uncovered. I feel your pain with hard water. Just replaced a hot water heater last week because of scale build-up blowing out the bottom element a second time in about 8 years.

You can configure Plaato to send data anywhere you want, including a local PC, you don't have to have it upload to a public website and I'm sure Tilt has the same features. Although it does take some technical knowledge on parsing the data yourself. Fortunately I have a lot of software background so I wrote some code to capture the data and parse it all out and then send it to my personal Slack chat so I get notifications hourly on my brew process.
Parsing data if it's in a pattern or has marker characters is a piece of cake. I put 26 PLC's in a spelling bee on a Broadband MAP 64 channel network at the Saturn plant back in 1989-1992 for their energy management system. That was no small chore since the GE Series Six Plus had no real alphabetic capabilities. Did it all with ladder logic, math, and boolean functions. I was thinking in hexadecimal and binary for a while after that job. Used some interpreted basic modules that fit in the Six Plus to communicate with some other devices via RS232 and RS422. I've slept a few times, but can't imagine talking to a Tilt or Plaato to be that difficult.