Belgian beer - secondary ferment in keg?

Klaus.101

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm very new to this! Hopefully I'm not missing an protocols in asking for help...

Anyway, I done a few "kits" and am now brewing a Belgian style beer. However, I only have one fermenting bin... is it possible to do the second fermentation (where I add some of the yeast lees from the first ferment) in the pressure barrel instead? The recipe I have says to do it in another bin and then keg after that.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
I have never done s secondary, but have also never done a Belgian. Transferring to a secondary is actually intended to get the beer off of the yeast, and wouldn't be done until fermentation was complete.
Once fermentation is done you can transfer to your keg, and let it condition there.

About half of my beers are Belgians and I do just what you are suggesting. I even take it one step further and combine the secondary fermentation with natural carbonation.

I just tapped a Belgian dark strong ale that I had kegged and primed back in September.

I'm glad I qualified that I have never done a Belgian.

I do bulk aging and secondary fermentations in kegs quite often. Works well for some types of beer. I also do as Bubba does and carbonate a batch in the keg for a week or so using sugar added with the beer, before connecting it to a tap. Works really well for me.

Though I'm guessing the recipe your using is talking about the concept of a secondary fermenter from a habit homebrewers developed a few decades ago that really isn't necessary any more. When the gravity is stable, move the beer to your keg and either force carbonate it, or keg condition it by adding some sugar to the keg. The beer will clear up naturally once you refrigerate it.

About half of my beers are Belgians and I do just what you are suggesting. I even take it one step further and combine the secondary fermentation with natural carbonation.