Dry hops vs oxidation

Craig, I am new to this website and used BeerSmith before. Just wanted to make a change I guess. I’ve been brewing on and off for 10 years, never seriously, but I’m very impressed with the knowledge of the many brewers on these forums and always learn a lot. I’m looking forward to collaborating with so many of you. Thanks to all of you for your quick and sage responses.

@BOB357
Please don't take offense to my earlier post, you have been very helpful to me these last couple years.

None taken. As I said in an earlier response and indicated with emojis, my initial statement was tongue in cheek, so I didn't think you were referring to it.

As to why, generally it's put down to the larger than normal post boil and dry hop additions and the newer hops themselves. All hops have a bunch of metal ions that are highly oxidative and the newer hops have higher levels. So adding far more hops than previously done adds far more highly oxidative metal ions that has been previously done. So the beer just sucks up any oxygen it's provided and turns that ugly brown colour. There's probably other reasons as well, but this is the one that I hear/read the most often.

Very interesting Mark!