Force Carbonation in keg, straight into bottles?

mrskittle

Trial Member
Established Member
Reaction score
I'm still pretty new to kegging, having only kegged 3 batches so far. I've figured out how to force carbonate and all is well on that front. And do I ever appreciate not dealing with bottling day!!!

So here's my issued today. I volunteered to bring some beer to a 4th of July celebration. At this moment about 3.5 gallons of a wheat beer are happily fermenting. It's due to be done on Thursday, and we are leaving on Friday morning for the festivities. My hope is to keg and force carbonate it Thursday morning and bottle it Friday morning.

I'm wondering if there's any issue bottling so quickly after putting beer into the keg. I'm worried that the bottled beer won't have the right carbonation. What you all think?

Taste it a head of time, 48 hours or so. The carbonation should slightly higher then you intend. The beer will foam and lose a little carbonation from bottling.

If you need a little more carbonation in a short period of time, crank to pressure to 20-25 and shake it a couple of minutes. Let it set for a couple of hours and test again. There is no harm in bottling a beer from a keg a little early as long as the carbonation level is good.

Yeast don't have a schedule. I'd make real sure fermentation is indeed done before packaging.
There's no harm in bottling off the keg right away, other than the carbonation may be a bit wonky in such a short period of time, but I've certainly pulled plenty off my kegs right away!:D

Not going to happen. First thing to know is that all gasses seek equilibrium. If you force carb it in one day, you'll have to set it at 30 psi at 40 degrees for 36 hours to get it carbed up. Oh, sure, you can shake it to hurry it along, but then you'll try to bottle a foamy mess.