Water Chemistry for Juicy Beers

Alex P

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, hope everyone is enjoying the lockdown brewing. I certainly am and most recently experimenting with the east coast juicy beers. Been brewing all grain for about 2 years and most of my beers (stouts, west coast pale ales, weiss, etc) are decent and drinkable. However, I recently read the book by Scott Janish "the new IPA".

Based on this I started playing around with water. A RO system is not an option for me right now so instead of using the super hard English tap water I just get 5L jugs of supermarket mineral water which seems to be simpler to modify. When I use both the basic and advanced calculators here and base everything on the recommended 2:1 Chloride to Sulphates ratio it always comes out as "too malty".

The two batches I brewed so far were super bitter. I know this is not an issue with how to handle hops and at what temperatures, this is under control on my end (ie: almost none during the boil, good charge during whirlpooling and then I usually like to dry hop during active fermentation). Most of my readings tend to suggest this is a water issue.

According to the book I should be aiming roughly for:

115 CA+2
5 MG+2
8 NA+
75 CL-
150 SO4-2
pH 5.2 to 5.2

Is there anything I'm missing here? For further reference, my Tesco supermarket water goes as follows:

11 CA+2
3 MG+2
10 NA+
14 CL-
11 SO4-2
pH 6.2

According to the advanced calculator here, I should be roughly hitting those numbers with the following additions to a 5 gallons brew:

2 ml Lactic acid 88%
3 gr Gypsum
0.2 gr Canning Salts
5 gr Calcium Chloride
0.7 Magnesium Chloride
0.5 Chalk

Is there anything that I'm missing? Any guidance will be appreciated! Cheers

Without running all the numbers...

Keeping your Ca numbers <=100, I would add:
Gypsum to bump your SO4.
Calcium Chloride to bump your CL.
Lactic as needed to hit your desired pH.

I wouldn't add any Na or Mg.