Ward water report confusion

TiKi BrEwErY

Trial Member
Reaction score
I live in Land o lakes Florida and just got my water report. I've been brewing extract and then biab for a few years. The wife bought me a robobrew and I did a haze craze neipa with it. I used ro water and added 1tsp gypsum, 2 tsp calcium chloride and 5 tsp of 5.2 ph stabilizer. That was before reading up on brewing water. I sent for my water report and this is the result.

Ph 8.1
TDS 301
Sodium, Na 43
Potassium 2
Calcium 66.6
Magnesium 6
Total hardness, CaCO3 193
Nitrate, NO3-N 0.3
Sulfate, SO4-S 21
Chloride 31
Carbonate CO3 <1.0 not detected
Bicarbonate, HCO3 202
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 168
Fluoride 0.34
Iron <0.01 not detected

I have read about the conversions that need to be done with some of the numbers.
When I put this into the water calculator I use 9 gallons because that will be my total water treated including the sparge which I will use to bring me to pre boil volume.
I am looking for advice on what to add so I can have a list specific amount of things to add for whatever style I'm going to brew.
What I would like to do is run a potable water hose from my tap through a charcoal filter and use just that.

On a side note, how long would a Carboy of ro water stay good in 80 degree garage if I put foil over the top?

If your city water is treated with chlorine, or chloramine you need to deal with that first.
Your home brew shop will have campden tablets, that will deal with the chlorine.
If you go to the water calculator here and punch in the numbers you have there as you source water, you can add "salts" (calcium chloride, gypsum, etc.) to get to your desired water profile. Different profiles for different styles of beer.
Water is water, there is no new or old water. All the water that is on this planet has always been here. Water doesn't go bad.
Under the right conditions things can grow in water though.
If you're not sure dump it, water is relatively cheap.