Newbie to Water Additions

AGbrewer

Premium Member
Reaction score
I'm a bit of a newbie to water additions, so be gentle.

So, I got my water report from Ward Labs thinking that I would be smart enough to figure out how to get everything to equal out. Man was I wrong. Every time I enter an amount of one thing, 2 other things shoot up or down. I can't seem to get it right. I tried to use several online spreadsheets to do the calculations for me (even Brewers Friend) and have had no success. The only additions that I'm currently using is one campden tablet and 10 ml of lactic acid in 7.5 gallons of water for a 5 gallon batch.

Looking for help developing these three profiles water profiles.

1. A "Middle of the road" brewing profile for Blonde Ales, Bitters, and maybe some lighter German lager or hefeweizen.
  2. A "Malt forward" one for RIS, BDSA, and a Tripel.
  3. A "Hop forward" one for APA, IPA, and some Belgians.

Below is my profile, can someone help me get to those three base water profiles.

upload_2020-4-2_7-57-30.png

That's going to depend on the style. Your water is pretty hard so it should make dark beers as is, simply dechlorinate it and to. For lighter beers, some you can do if minerally flavors are part of the profile but for most, I'd go with cheap RO water from the supermarket.

That's going to depend on the style. Your water is pretty hard so it should make dark beers as is, simply dechlorinate it and to. For lighter beers, some you can do if minerally flavors are part of the profile but for most, I'd go with cheap RO water from the supermarket.

I'd rather not use RO as it wastes a lot of water to make. Call me a tree hugger if you want, just trying to do my best to do the environmentally responsible thing when possible.

Is there anything in the report that you can see that would cause issues with either light or dark beers, malt forward or hoppy beers?