Help with what salts to add when please..

Hop fiend

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm not a very active member as I've been unable to brew for a few years now, but I'm dusting off the gear and getting right back into it! I'm brewing my favourite, an american style IPA but as I'm fairly new to all grain I'm a bit confused as to what I add when regarding salts and acids.
So.. I'm using Tesco Ashbeck bottled water.
It's profile is:
pH: 6.2
Calcium (Ca): 10
Magnesium (Mg): 2.5
Sodium (Na): 9
Sulfate (SO4): 10
Chloride (Cl): 12
Bicarbonate (HCO3): 10
(per mg/l)

I've used the website to see what I need to make a nice bitter DIPA, which can be found here:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/mash-chemistry-and-brewing-water-calculator/?id=D6QXXMB

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/edit/205561

I've followed recommendations on adding salts and AMS/CRS acid, and I'm guessing it's been calculated on my total 60 litres (15.8 us gallons) of water? Or do I add all these to just my mash? I'm not sure how i's been calculated but I'm trying for a mash PH of 5.4. Thanks for any help, and feel free to look over my recipe and make any suggestions you feel might be needed. Thank you kindly, Ollie.

You can just treat your mash water, the mash pH during the mash is what is important. I see no reason to treat that bottled water for sparging. Others may comment that it wouldn't hurt to add a bit of lactic to the sparge water.

Glad you have decided to get back into the hobby, this making beer thing is still pretty new to me (2 years now).
I love it, and I am astonished at how much I have learned. The folks here on BF are top shelf, friendly, and always helpful!

Cheers,
Craigerrr

You can just treat your mash water, the mash pH during the mash is what is important. I see no reason to treat that bottled water for sparging. Others may comment that it wouldn't hurt to add a bit of lactic to the sparge water.