White Labs PurePitch w/o Starter?

Sechelter

Premium Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'll soon be brewing a Trappist Single and am debating on whether or not to build a starter. I have a White Labs PurePitch culture that's about 3 months old and my hoped-for 5.5 gal of wort will be around 1.046 SG.
This is my first time with the PurePitch. All the White Labs literature states that a starter isn't required, and this isn't a big beer. I'm not sure if I'm being OCD by considering a starter, but I sure as heck don't want a sweet beer.
Anyone out there with experience using these bigger yeast packs?
Thanks in advance!
R

For 5.5 gallons of lower gravity wort, a 3 month old yeast package of yeast is on the edge. So I would recommend making a starter just to be sure. The cost of a little DME and a little more work is a small price to pay for assurance you have enough healthy yeast. And be sure to aerate the heck out of you wort before pitching.

That's the best option ^^ and once you've done a few their pretty straight forward and really prep the yeast for a great fermentation.

Since its pretty low OG it's a 50/50 but if the yeast is old it may act old in the fermenter and fall asleep before the job is done:p.

That's how to look at it.

A do I want a hastle free healthy fermentation.

B do I risk a slow start and a sluggish finish where I have to keep rousing the yeast back into solution and babying the temperature everyday to get the attenuation over the line.

I agree, it is liquid, i always do a starter. Takes a little extra planning, but the quick start is worth it

Hi all,
I'll soon be brewing a Trappist Single and am debating on whether or not to build a starter. I have a White Labs PurePitch culture that's about 3 months old and my hoped-for 5.5 gal of wort will be around 1.046 SG.