Voss Kviek Question

Craigerrr

Premium Member
Established Member
Reaction score
So I brewed a 1041 hazy ale on Tuesday. The Voss took off real quick (fermenting at 29C) and was going cuckoo for coconuts just 16 hours later so I added the first dry hop charge. 24 hours later, not even 48 hours in all seemed calm, so I took a gravity reading. Hot damn, it was already at FG, nutty! I added the second dry hop charge. The sample tasted really yeasty, and after leaving it on the bench for roughly another 24 hours there was a nice layer of yeast at the bottom.

Question
How long should I leave this alone to clean up after itself? I'm not in any rush really, just curious. I have never used this yeast before.

Yep shes good to crash and package.
If youve dry hopped it you could just let it sit for a day or two then crash for a day or two package and enjoy.

I tend to leave mine in the fermenter 7-10 days after hitting FG. The yeast does clean up a number of other fermentation byproducts after all of the fermenter sugar is consumed.

This isn't an exact science as I've had some that were ready three days after hitting FG and others that weren't ready after a week. Sometimes, it's good to just taste a sample.

I've been using a different kveik strand so can't speak directly to the voss, but I've been kind of doing as @Bubba Wade suggested above. These kveik strains can hammer sh*t out in no time and while technically finished fermenting, I get better, cleaner results if I let it settle out for a few days. I would think this especially true if doing a hazy brew. I don't know all the technical terms and lingo, but in a nutshell you get all the hop particulate sticking to the yeasties left in suspension and get that kind of peppery burn in your throat. YMMV.