Troubleshoot my BIAB recipe!

Brehwens

Trial Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

New to home brewing, I recently started playing around with the recipe creator here on the site and I really enjoy the tool, and seeing how I can affect the parameters of the beer. I have made a couple of "kit" recipes, and felt it was the time to "play around" a bit, and so I created a straightforward lager recipe:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/751671/modern-lager

So: I wanted to have 10 L going into the fermenter. As I did a BIAB, and from a previous run (and internet wisdom) realized I would loose appr. 2 L of water in the grains, I heated 12 L for my mash.

According to the recipe, I was expecting an OG of 1.049. With 9.5 L in my kettle after mashing, I was at 1.066.

Adding more water, I was at 1.054 at 12 L. Final post-boil OG was 1.052 at 12.3 L (approximately). So I came fairly close, no big deal. But I ended up with 2.3 L "excess" wort, as I had to dilute the wort.

My questions:

1. How should I use "batch size" in the recipe calculator when doing a BIAB? I understand that the grains absorb water, but do they not also absorb the sugar dissolved in the water? (in other words, should the BIAB step be considered a "concentration effect" or a "bulk loss effect"?
In my case, I realise I had too much grain/too little water for my mash, but I can't really get my head around the water volume I should enter as the "batch size" when doing a BIAB. For my recipe to add up, giving the OG I actually got this corresponds more to a batch size of 9.5 L (which is what I got after taking out the grain bag), but to me it sounds strange if I were to always add a certain amount of water/kg grain, as the IBU calculations then would be performed on a volume that is not there when the hops are actually added. Do I make sense?