Suggestion for the Yeast Variety menu

Discussion in 'Recipe Editor' started by z-bob, Jul 30, 2018.

  1. z-bob

    z-bob New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There should be a "custom" yeast selection, just like there is for custom fermentables. In case I want to use something weird that's not in the list. (and I did that recently -- K1V-1116 wine yeast seems to work great as an ale yeast.)

    Thanks, Bob
     
  2. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    You can click the "custom/2nd yeast" box and put it in there- but you're right, we need a custom yeast box! I'll bring that up.
     
    Grey Cat Brewing likes this.
  3. deVeer

    deVeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yes we do need a custom selection. For example I just made the Bells Amber clone from BYO magazine.
    My yeast was harvested from Bell's beer. I know many others have used yeast harvested from a variety of other sources.
     
  4. Grey Cat Brewing

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Is this still a possibility? The Custom/2nd yeast seems no longer available to select. I have a couple of recipes that use harvested yeast and this feature would be fantastic.
     
  5. Yooper

    Yooper Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    1,564
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Happily retired
    Location:
    Upper Michigan/Florida
    Yes! It's in beta now. Please check it out: https://beta.brewersfriend.com and see what you think.

    Note that you'll have to put your yeast into your inventory to pull it in.
    yeast2.png yeast3.png
     
  6. Grey Cat Brewing

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I tried that out and I was able to add the yeast to my inventory. However, when I click on the Inventory tag in the recipe and select the yeast from the list, it just scrolls up to the top and does nothing. When I scroll back down to the yeast area, the inventory menu is still open.

    I've run into something similar with the custom fermentables, also, it may or may not be unrelated.

    Edit: Using Chrome browser

    Edit 2: If I click on the brown inventory button, it doesn't let me add it. But it DOES show up in the pull down list of ALL yeasts. I think I may have misunderstood which inventory pull down you were referring to.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white