Smart PID

Discussion in 'General Brewing Discussions' started by Minbari, May 17, 2021.

  1. Hawkbox

    Hawkbox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    3,537
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Edmonton
    -->
  2. Craigerrr

    Craigerrr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    6,117
    Likes Received:
    9,361
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Messy, but neat!
    Just kidding, looks great!
     
    Minbari likes this.
    -->
  3. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,960
    Likes Received:
    11,007
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    See you got some solenoid valves there too?
    This gunna have a cover over it?
    Looks pretty techy man
     
  4. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    #24 Minbari, Jun 11, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2021
    ya, the soleniod valves direct the glycol to either the chiller coil in the fermentor or back to the reservoir. I needed something that could switch pretty fast. the PID is setup to alter direction every 50mS to 2.5S(PWM for the PID output), a timer turns off the pump once 2 minutes of inactivity expires.

    nah, just dont poke the SSR with the high voltage with your finger, lol.
     
    Trialben and Craigerrr like this.
  5. Bubba Wade

    Bubba Wade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired Engineer
    Location:
    Monroe, Louisiana
    Home Page:
    Maybe some lessons in cable management should be in order.
     
  6. Donoroto

    Donoroto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired Engineer
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Yep. I'd be happy to try it remotely. Just need a bunch of zip ties or similar. Even twist ties from bread will do.
     
  7. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    I have a few on there. :p When I have to change things its too much of a PITA to cut them off
     
  8. Donoroto

    Donoroto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2020
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    1,578
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired Engineer
    Location:
    Atlanta
    "Proper" wire routing needs to look like a NYC subway map, all nice and parallel, little service loops at each end, and fully supported along its length.

    That being said, if it works, it's good
     
  9. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    so I am pretty impressed with this thing so far. took about a day of fiddling with it and playing with the PID parameters. but it now comes up or down to temp, it overshoots once about 1/2 degree and then corrects itself and stays rock solid on temp.

    might be time to test this thing with some real beer next!:eek: (just testing with water so far)
     
    Donoroto and Craigerrr like this.
  10. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    #30 Minbari, Jun 17, 2021 at 2:02 AM
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021 at 11:38 PM
    just a small update. I have been trying to find a temp probe that will work optimally for this thing. I tried a type K thermocouple, but it had too much variance on temp. dont know if it was the thrmocouple adapter that SmartPID has for it or if it was cheap Type K devices, but didnt work.

    next I tried a DS18B20 digital temp probe. cool idea and I am sure if you wanted to control temp within 1/2 a degree, it would work fine, but it jumped around +/- 0.3° F and confused the hell out of the PID.

    last and not least went with a 3-wire PT100. analog is definately the way to go and this probe is rock solid. seems to be the winner.
     
    Donoroto and Trialben like this.
  11. Trialben

    Trialben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    9,960
    Likes Received:
    11,007
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Pest control tech
    Location:
    Palmwoods QLD
    Oh you could of had mine my pid ain't like it:oops:
     
  12. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    Lol. They are only$10. Pretty sure shipping would have been more.
     
    Trialben likes this.
  13. Bubba Wade

    Bubba Wade Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired Engineer
    Location:
    Monroe, Louisiana
    Home Page:
    Note that thermocouples are typically used for wide range high temperature applications while the RTD’s are used for lower temperature and more precise measurement.
     
    Minbari likes this.
  14. Minbari

    Minbari Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2021
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    fuel hauler
    Location:
    STL
    That would agree with my experience. At 60°F it was all over the place. The RTD was just solid.

    My understanding of thermocouples also is they have a cold side measurement up by the pid. If that temp is varying due to air currents or heat source nearby, it will effect the hot side measure as well.
     
    -->

Share This Page

arrow_white