Slightly belated introduction

Dukeoprunz

Premium Member
Reaction score
Wanted to say hi to everyone! I’m basically a newbie - I brewed one beer from a kit in 1995 and a second as a premium from a charity auction in 2006 - but with the pandemic have come back to the hobby with a vengeance and found it to be a really rewarding creative outlet. Moved on from the kit to a proper but still low-budget setup - false bottom cooler mash tun, 8-gallon brew kettle, primary / secondary fermenter - and trying to build skills by trying new beer styles. Largely using Randy Mosher’s book as my guide to thinking about how the elements of recipes come together to express something interesting and be drinkable. Making some mistakes along the way but learning a lot and having a lot of fun.

To throw out a couple of questions:

1) Best recommendations for cold fermentation on a budget? I’ve been using yeasts where I can get away with doing the entire thing at room temperature but I know that’s suboptimal. What’s the most economical setup folks have figured out - just find myself a used fridge or are there any go-to minifridges or other solutions?

2) Thinking about playing with a beer that includes passion fruit or watermelon. Would it be crazy to try this in a lager rather than something more phenoly? Thinking of accentuating the crispness of the fruit flavor as well as telling a specific story.

Look forward to chatting and I’m sure there will be more silly questions!

Eric.

Welcome to Brewers Friend!
1) If you have the space, a cheap used fridge, an inkbird 308, and a little cube heater, are about the cheapest way to get into temperature control.
20200910_204015.jpg

Hey Duke, welcome to the clubhouse!