Saison ruined?

Øllemann

Trial Member
Reaction score
At bach 7 I'm still a rookie it seems. Recipe below.

Problem: The pacific jade hops smells fantastic but I should have calculated for the high bitterness. My IBU is through the roof for a saison. But have I ruined the beer by using too much hops? :oops:

Title: Rainy Saison
Batch Size: 24 liters (
STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.062
Final Gravity: 1.007 ?
ABV (standard): 7.18%
IBU (tinseth): 67.13
FERMENTABLES:
5.3 kg - German - Pilsner (71.6%)
1.5 kg - German - Wheat Malt (20.3%)
0.6 kg - German - Munich Light (8.1%)
HOPS:
35 g - Pacific jade, Type: Pellet, AA: 13, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 45.91
30 g - Pacific jade, Type: Pellet, AA: 13, Use: Boil for 15 min, IBU: 19.53
30 g - Pacific jade, Type: Pellet, AA: 13, Use: Boil for 1 min, IBU: 1.7
OTHER INGREDIENTS:
5 g - szechuan pepper, Time: 1 min, Type: Spice, Use: Boil
1.5 each - dried lime,Iran, crushed, Time: 1 min, Type: Flavor, Use: Boil
30 g - lemongrass, cut, Time: 1 min, Type: Flavor, Use: Boil
YEAST:
Wyeast - French Saison 3711

RDWHAHB Letters to live by. You say 1.007? That's about what to expect from Saison yeast but it can drop more. How long has it been fermenting? You have a lot of stuff in there with a yeast that leaves a lot of flavor.
I have a recipe for a stout with 335 IBU's and with time it is fantastic. If it finishes and still is too strong for your taste, wait a few more months. Give the beer time to blend together. In the mean time make another batch :D .

i agree with giving it some time to age. out of curiosity, what was your BU/GU for this recipe? that might give you a rough idea if the hops outweigh the malts. there's a ton more variables than that, but it's a place to start

also, where did you get the idea for all those Other Ingredients? i don't know if i was even thinking along those lines at my 7th batch