RO water

Jay BIB

Premium Member
Reaction score
Hi
Newbie here. Never used any other brewing software.
Looking for water for dumbies I guess. I have an RO water system (Per I live in FL) and cant seem to find out how to get amount of additives to balance the water. Is there an easy way to see exactly what amounts of what are need to balance 90gal of RO water to a standard profile?

Thank you
Jay

Hi
Newbie here. Never used any other brewing software.
Looking for water for dumbies I guess. I have an RO water system (Per I live in FL) and cant seem to find out how to get amount of additives to balance the water. Is there an easy way to see exactly what amounts of what are need to balance 90gal of RO water to a standard profile?

Thank you
Jay
Nope, it's all trial and error on the calculator here.

The mineral content will vary depending on what style you're brewing, so it's usually best to just build water for each recipe. If you want just a straight up balanced profile, use the basic water chemistry tool and add Calcium Chloride and Calcium Sulfate until you get at least 50ppm of Calcium and the Sulfates and Chlorides are close to the same.

As @Nosybear said, you'll need to enter the salts manually. The resultant mineral levels will tell you when you've achieved your goal.

Last edited:
I usually pick an ion, say chloride, and get it close, then start on the others. It's still trial and error (not really, but that's how the calculator is set) but you can reduce the number of trials that way.